Have a Marlis Day!

A Grandmother’s Touch…

Posted on: January 22, 2011

It was early  Monday morning when her mother called. “She doesn’t want to go to school,” she told me. “I don’t know if she’s sick or just tired, but when I pressed her, she began to cry. Can you keep her today?”  Of course I could, that’s what grandmothers do best. I spead sheets on the couch so she could watch tv or nap. She arrived in bathrobe and slippers, clutching her pillow and favorite blanket.  She didn’t say much and curled up on the couch. Her mother told me she’d played basketball on Saturday, slept over at a friend’s house, then had softball practice on Sunday afternoon.

I offered breakfast but she only wanted juice. Her forehead was cool. She slept until noon. When she woke she felt much better, more like the eleven-year-old I knew and loved. I prepared her favorite lunch, chicken noodle soup, and she ate it all. I think she was just exhausted from doing all her favorite things. She told me her teacher was reading my new book to her class and was to read chapter 14 that day, the one where Sparky and Grey start sixth grade. Of course, we found a book and she opened to the right place. I read chapter 14  to her and I don’t know who enjoyed it more. She had a lot of homework to do when her sister got home, and she went to school the next day.

4 Responses to "A Grandmother’s Touch…"

We all need a little pampering from time to time. You’re a good grandma!

Morgan,
Thanks for reading my blog and for the comment!
marlis

Loved this blog, Aunt Mar… such a sweet recount of your exhausted Chase; made my heart smile. thanks for sharing!

Thanks, Katie, for the kind words. I think of you often out there speading cheer on the slopes. love, aunt mar

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

