Have a Marlis Day!

My New Kindle

Posted on: February 6, 2011

Santa brought me a Kindle. I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not – after all, I had read regular books since I was six years old (Ahem! Notice how I’m not saying how many years?) Could I adapt?

I’d been wanting to read Ken Follett’s World Without End, so my daughter showed me how to download it. I couldn’t believe how easy it was. While I was at the amazon.com store, I also downloaded some free classics, just in case. I started reading and pressing the edges to advance the pages. So easy to handle, so light, so easy to carry about. If I want to reread a page, I just press and Zip! I’m back. When I turn it off, it marks the place and starts up at exactly the right place. It even adjusts the font if you want bigger print.Wish I’d have invented it. It’s hard to believe it will hold up to 1500 books! Wow! That’s so impressive. It’s small enough to slip into my purse and take with me when I travel. If I finish one book, I just go on to the next. And…this is big: The ebooks are MUCH less expensive than the traditional ones. My new Back to Bailey’s Chase is only $2.99. I went ahead and ordered the next two books my bookclub has selected. If you’re interested in one, go to amazon.com and order one; it will be at your house in a couple of days. A cord comes with it, so charge it up and it’ll be good for a month or so, then charge it again. It doesn’t take long. Honestly, I’m not selling them nor do I get a commission, but I do wish I had some stock in the company. I love my Kindle!

Now….if I can just remember not to read in the bathtub anymore. I don’t think it would survive a baptism.

6 Responses to "My New Kindle"

Hi Marlis….Enjoyed your blog. I broke down and bought a Kindle a couple weeks ago. I agree that it will be great to take on trips, etc. And like you, I downloaded classics. I just finished reading “The Time Machine.” I haven’t downloaded any current books because I have a stack of books I need to finish first. Take care.

Michael, So nice to hear from you. Glad you like your kindle too. Will I see you in Bowling Green in April? marlis ps-thanks for reading my blog – my publisher checks the sitemeter (gulp)

No, I don’t think the Kindle will survive a baptism! I, too, love my Kindle.
Brenda

I just bought my husband a Kindle for his birthday and he loves it. I already had a iPad, but I think the Kindle is better for reading books because it is so light.

I got a Kindle as a gift from my children this year. The encasement looks like an old library. I enjoy it, but still like holding an actual book. The feature I like comes with the clear plastic cover protector with a stand. So I can stand the Kindle up while I eating lunch. I also downloaded some games like solitare and mahjong. Anyway, I am glad you are having fun with yours.

I have an iPad & I haven’t found that books are any cheaper? I have heard more & more people buying the readers even with an iPad. I might have to look into one.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

