Have a Marlis Day!

My Sadist Dentist

Posted on: March 7, 2011

It was early on a Saturday morning and I cowered under my blankets. My parents had never lied to me; they told me the dentist was a nice man and wouldn’t hurt me, but he did. Now, they wanted me to go back. I cried, pleaded, and begged, but I was only eight years old. This trip was as horrid as the first one. Dr. Sadist drilled my teeth without novacaine. I still remember how much it hurt. Later when my father needed a filling, he found out what a monster this guy was. He came home furious at the *#*#*#*!! We changed dentists. The next one was kind and used novacaine. But I still harbor a deep inner fear of dental work.

Not long ago I visited a relative at a nursing home. Leaving, I noticed my old dentist’s name on a door. I stopped. Could it be? The last name was the same, but I wasn’t familiar with the first name; the sadist was called “Red” due to his hair. I guessed it could have been Lowell. I decided to pop in and say “Hello.” Maybe, I told myself, he’d remember me and we’d have a nice little chat. Maybe since he was an old man now, he had mellowed and would be kind to me. It would erase the old memory and help me get over the dental-fear I had carried for decades. Always the optimist, I knocked. No answer. I pushed the door slightly open and whispered his name. No answer. Then I spotted an old man in bed, wrapped in a sheet up to his neck. Wisps of hair covered his almost bald head. No teeth. I smiled and slowly approached the bed. “Hello,” I said in my friendliest voice. “Are you Dr. Lowell Tolson?” No response. He watched me curiously. I went closer. “I think you were my dentist when I was a little girl.” Suddenly, he opened his mouth as wide as possible and let out a blood-curdling scream, “AA AAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!”  I nearly jumped out of my shoes! He had done it again – nearly scared the wits out of me. I turned and ran out the door hoping I wouldn’t run into a nurse. I didn’t stop running until I reached my car. I locked the door and leaned my head on the steering wheel. My heart raced. Part of me wanted to go back in and smack him on top of his wispy old head. But I didn’t. I guess some people are just nasty for life.

1 Response to "My Sadist Dentist"

I have a feeling you scared him more than he scared you that time. How the mighty can fall!

Morgan Mandel
http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

