Have a Marlis Day!

So. KY Book Fest

Posted on: April 18, 2011

 I met one of  my favorite authors, Jean Auel, at the reception for authors on Friday night at the So. KY Book Fest in  Bowling Green. I asked her why she waited so long to write another book and she said simply, “Life got in the way.” Then she told me about her five children,  fifteen grandchildren, and life in Portland, Oregon. I loved her first book, Clan of the Cave Bear, which was released in 1980. It was followed by four others in the series, all national best sellers and movies. (over 45 million books sold) Now….The Land of  Painted Caves. I can hardly wait to read it. She was warm, friendly, and most gracious when I told her I was a huge fan.

As usual, thousands streamed through the annual affair on  Saturday.  Nicholas Sparks spoke at a $!00.00 breakfast, then to a packed auditorium. Although I’m not a big fan, I picked up a book for my daughter-in law. He smiled and let me take his picture.

I noticed Judith Viorst, popular children’s author, was signing near me, so I bought two books for my grandsons. She nodded that I could take her picture but was neither friendly nor warm. I think maybe she was having “a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.”

As always, it was an awesome event. The staff served lunch to the authors and drinks all day. I visited with an old MWA (Mystery Writers of America) friend, a chef who grows truffles, and an Amish woman who crossed over and is now shunned by her family. And…I sold lots of books. One young girl crawled under my table so her mother could take a picture of her with me. A girl named Taylor told me she bought The Secret of Bailey’s Chase last year and had come for the sequel.

Kudos to the organizers of this grand fundraiser for the promotion of literacy in Kentucky.

1 Response to "So. KY Book Fest"

I am soooooo jealous!! JM Auel AND Nicholas Sparks??? Oooooh, next time, let me know about this conference!!! I’d love to go with you:)

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

