Have a Marlis Day!

And Whoosh, It’s Gone!

Posted on: May 30, 2011

And Whoosh! Memorial Day weekend is over. On Saturday, our kids and grands arrived. They came from Indianapolis and from across the lake to fill our quiet home with love and laughter, the very essence of family. The four older grandkids drove the golf cart around to the swimming dock and engaged in the first swim of the season. Not a lover of cool water, I coached young swimmers, played lifeguard, and took pictures. Our son fished and rode the horse, who was amazingly cooperative after not being ridden since last fall. I picked the first lettuce from our garden, wilted it, and served it with an Italian dinner.  Our daughter brought fresh strawberries with shortcakes and whipped cream for dessert. After dinner all ten of us played whiffle ball on the front lawn, while the baby watched from the shaded porch. I laughed so hard when my daughter tagged my daughter-in-law out, as she tripped and accidentally slid  into first base. Our rules include: pitch until they hit it, swap teams when needed, and anything goes. 

On Sunday we pulled the kids on a large inner tube behind the pontoon boat, crossing our path often and creating waves. Later, we sent them on a scavenger hunt, then equipped them with sidewalk chalk and bubbles. For dinner,  along with the usual picnic favorites, we grilled  marinated turkey breasts, which were outstanding. Dessert was homemade ice cream. My brother came with his wisdom and gentle ways, a grand uncle to the little ones. Today they enjoyed one last swim, then began packing for the drive home. We shared a lunch of leftovers, finished up the ice cream, and hugged everyone good-bye. School’s out. Summer has officially begun. I must take down the flag and get back to my writing. I’m getting my mysteries ready for reissue by Echelon Press as trade paperbacks and ebooks. Also, I have to get ready for Printers’ Row in Chicago next week-end and its expected crowd of 100,000. But Memorial Day memories will linger, especially tender ones of bathing the baby and reading bedtime stories to the little guys bunking in their dad’s old room. Life is sweet.

1 Response to "And Whoosh, It’s Gone!"

As always what a marvelous read! The accompaning photograph brought peace and tranquility to my mind and soul. Then as I read on and followed the exploits of your family, especially the children, I smiled and smiled. And, yes, at times I even “Ahhhed.” I admit to a quiet chuckle when I read about your daughter-in-law’s “acrobatics” at the lawn game.

The description of the wonderful food served over this very warm family weekend set my mouth to watering. Mmmmm, strawberries and whipped cream, yummy. Gee, I’ve never had grilled turkey breasts. I bet they were delicious.

What a marvelous magical weekend filled with family, laughter, and love.

Actually, Marlis, if I may say so everything about your weekend event and your writing in general is just delicious and yes, always magical.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

