Have a Marlis Day!

A HEAVENLY TOWN

Posted on: November 6, 2011

Ben & His Mom

I met Ben and his mom at the Printers’ Row Book Expo in Chicago in June. Two weeks ago, they invited me to visit Ben’s school in Western Springs, IL. It took us six hours to make the drive, but it was well worth the effort. This quaint suburb of Chicago is one of the loveliest towns I’ve ever visited. A commuter train runs down the middle of  Main Street in this cozy community of 12,ooo.  We drove down street after tree-lined street of stately two-story homes complete with friendly front porches and wide, shaded front lawns. Perhaps the sunshine on the colorful treetops lent the heavenly glow to the town.

After checking into our hotel, we followed the walking trail through the park, where the townspeople picnic and watch their children play baseball, soccer, football, and ice hockey. Within walking distance of our hotel, we dined at one of the best seafood restaurants in the world. It reminded me of being on a cruise ship.

The next day Ben and his mom met me at the front door of the school and introduced me to the librarian, who assembled the third, fourth, and fifth graders into the auditorium. I talked to the children about my writing, their writing, favorite books in general, and the importance of reading. The fifth grade teachers had been reading The Secret of Bailey’s Chase aloud, so the older students had questions for me when I visited their rooms. Immediately after school, the annual book fair began and I was invited to read from my books. I signed books for many young readers that day, and I don’t know when I’ve ever met such polite and articulate children. I’m already receiving emails as they read my books, and I welcome and answer them all. I hope they know how smitten I am with them and their heavenly town.

3 Responses to "A HEAVENLY TOWN"

Sounds like a great town & school.

I am so pleased that you took the time to visit Forest Hills School. Ben is my grandson and an avid reader. Bless you for encouraging this wonderful passion of his! Grandma T.

Thank you for your kind words and for visiting my sons school! All three of my children have gone to Forest Hills School and have learned to love reading. Visits from people such as yourself certainly encourage that love. I’m glad you had a nice visit to our town and school. They really are quite special. Please come back anytime!

Sincerely, Appreciative parent

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

