Have a Marlis Day!

My Dog’s True Story…

Posted on: March 8, 2012

MY TERRIBLE, HORRIBLE, NO-GOOD, VERY BAD NIGHT BY GYPSY ROSE DAY

It was a normal evening and I sat by Gram as she watched TV. It must have been ten, because she told me it was time to go outside for a pit stop and then to bed. Like a good dog, I went outside. In the back yard, I smelled something strange. I crept toward the strange smell. I saw something that looked like a black and white cat. I barked and told it to go home –this was my territory. It didn’t run. It stood on its hands, stuck its feet into the air, and made a terrible smell. I decided to bite it so it would go away. When I tried to bite it, it bit ME and it wouldn’t let me go! It sunk its teeth into my chin and hung on. “OW!” I tried to shake it off, but it wouldn’t let me go. The more I shook the worse it smelled. I think I shook every bit of stink out of it. I felt sick. UGH! My eyes burned. I yelped for help. Gram heard me and came running toward me. It was dark. I tried to go to her, but this crazy, stinky animal had its teeth in me and I could hardly walk. When I finally got close to Gram, I was walking in circles, dragging this stupid animal. Gram yelled, “Something is attacking Gypsy!” Gramps thought it was a raccoon and got his gun. “BANG!” The noise was so loud I felt for sure I was dead. The stinky animal let go and ran away. Then Gramps yelled, “Get back! It’s a SKUNK!” Then Gram and Gramps both jumped into the back door. I tried to get in, too, but they closed the door. I jumped high in the air so they’d know how much I wanted to get into the house, to snuggle into my safe bed. But they didn’t understand. I went around to the garage and tried that door. But still, they wouldn’t let me in. They threw towels out the door and put out my food and water dishes. I was so scared. I threw up and then rubbed my face on the towels trying to make my eyes stop burning. After a while, I slept in the old dog house in our garage, but I was soooooo mad at Gram and Gramps. The next day, Gramps gave me a bath with a special shampoo and fed me bacon and eggs. I think he was sorry for locking me out and for nearly making my heart stop when he shot the gun. I got to come back into the house, into my cozy bed in the sunroom. Gram had candles burning everywhere. I guess they don’t like skunks either. Personally, I hope I never see another skunk in my life. I still dream about the terrible night. Gram says when I sleep by her in her chair in the evenings, I twitch and growl and my feet try to run.  I guess that’s what nightmares can do to a Jack Russell Terrier, even though we are very brave dogs. She says I’m having “Post Dramatic Stress Syndrome.” She and Gramps still sniff me and say it’s almost gone. (Two weeks & three baths later!)  Here’s how the terrible skunk looked.

Your pal, Gypsy

PS- Stay away from skunks! They are evil!

3 Responses to "My Dog’s True Story…"

So funny!! But poor Gypsey!

What a great story. Maybe your next book could be told from Gypsy’s perspective?

Marlis What a vivid visual your story created. I can’t even imagine going through something like that!
I agree with Zach Stuckey!! A story from Gypsy’s point of view!!

Ruth

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

