Have a Marlis Day!

MY BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION

Posted on: March 27, 2012

To celebrate my birthday this year, my daughter and her family accompanied my hubby and me on a Disney cruise followed by three days at Disney World. Getting older is unavoidable, unless… well, I won’t even go there. Anyway, my birthday was spectacular! We flew to Orlando, boarded the Disney Dream and spent four nights being entertained and treated like royalty. It was the first cruise for Stephanie, Joe, Chase, and Gracie, and it had been years since we’d been to Disney World.

We spent two days at sea, one day shopping at Nassau in the Bahamas, and one day on the beach of the fabulous Castaway Island. Our rooms and balconies connected and they issued special cell phones to us, making it easy to find each other among the 4000 on the ship. The dining was superb and the nightly entertainment delightful and suited for families. I especially enjoyed the magician and the fireworks. We didn’t have time to do all the activites offered, but enjoyed the pools and sunny deck area. We all rode the Aqua-duck, an enclosed clear water slide that ran all the way round the huge ship, then out over the ocean, finally dumping us into a shallow pool. Wow!

We posed for this family portrait on our way to dinner one evening.

At the Magic Kingdom, Joe hurried off and got “fast-passes” for us, which enabled us to see all the shows and ride everything we chose without long waiting lines. I didn’t have time to think about getting older as I shot down waterfalls, zoomed through space in a “Star Wars” ship, or hung on for dear life on the roller coasters. We watched Indiana Jones shoot a scene, gasped at crashes and bombings at the Hollywood Theme Park, and enjoyed Disney stage performances.

Note how I’m hanging on for dear life on the Splash Mountain picture! No arms in air for me.

I will always remember this as the best birthday of my life and thank my family for taking me. Mostly, I thank God for giving me the health and family and opportunity to do this. If you want to see more pictures, check out my page on facebook. Thanks for reading my blog!  Hugs, Marlis

6 Responses to "MY BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION"

MIne was the 25th. Glad you had a great day.

Happy Birthday, Sabrina!

Disney World is my favorite place on Earth. I’ve been wanting to take a Disney Cruise too. We’ve never been on a cruise. They have one that goes to Alaska & that is where my hubby wants to go.

Happy birthday! What a nice family!

Looks like you had a fantastic time. What a nice, uplifting post, and Happy Birthday.

So happy for you Marlis-what a wonderful time you must have had! Happy birthday my friend-see you in June!

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

