Have a Marlis Day!

THE ORBITRON

Posted on: October 1, 2012

Yes, this is me riding the Orbitron at our town’s fall festival last weekend. What fun! I felt like an astronaut floating weightlessly in space as the ride took me upside down, then over and around in every direction. This suspended sphere was so perfectly balanced that simply tossing my head turned the wheel to another direction. I also thought of Peter Pan, who never wanted to grow up. I’ll admit I felt a bit foolish standing in line with all the children waiting my turn, but it was worth the whole $3.00 ticket.

Our fall festival raises money for the Blue Jeans Center, the old high school turned community center. Friends and neighbors arrive for the weekend festival which includes a queen pageant, 5K Run, basketball tournament, flea market vendors, food stands, fireworks, parade, home cooked meals in the school cafeteria and music on the stage of the old gym. Tents, rides, and huge inflatables fill the front lawn. People feast on homemade ice cream and barbecue by our local cook-off kings. It’s a time when old friends meet and sit in lawn chairs in the shade near the school where they learned to read. It’s a bit of Norman Rockwell Americana that touches my heart and makes me glad I grew up in a small town.

2 Responses to "THE ORBITRON"

(Pout) I wanna ride it!! Glad you had a good time:)

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

