Have a Marlis Day!

October

Posted on: October 22, 2012

 I  step out into the fall morning. The air is crisp, the sky blue. My little dog gazes at me in wonder when I dash back inside for my camera. My walk takes me down our lane and around the lake. I pause and try to capture the beauty, the splendor of this October day. I don’t recall the hardwoods ever being this colorful. Could I have forgotten? Should it seem new to me every year? The trees appear dressed as if for a party, and I love how they reflect in the water. Maybe if I lock the images into my memory, this spectacular day will return to me on winter days ahead. I don’t lose my focus as I shoot the scenes, each more breath-taking than the previous one. Even my grandgirls riding past on their paint horses doesn’t faze me as I snap each astonishing scene. I’m sure the girls don’t understand why I’m so enamored with the beauty of the season, since I’ve seen it many times. I pick up a some gold-burnished leaves, a few acorns. Squirrels spot me and scamper up trees topped with brilliant reds and glinting golds.  I pause and say hello to the young goats and donkey peeking from their pen, the first autumn for them. I wonder idly if they notice the treetop fire. Nearing the woods, I sense unseen deer watching and nudging their fawns into frozen silence. The English teacher in me remembers James Whitcomb Riley’s famous poem: When the Frost is on the Punkin and Joyce Kilmer’s Trees. A great blue heron soars over the lake and I wonder if it will leave before winter. This brings to mind Rachel Field’s Something Told the Wild Geese. As I continue my hike, I think of putting flannel sheets on the beds and digging out my old IU Hoosiers sweatshirt. I need to go in, but what if this is my last chance to enjoy the peak of the season? It could rain. A mighty wind could come along and ruin it all. Ater my trek I carry my lunch to the front porch, settle into a rocking chair, and savor the glorious day a little longer. Maybe this time, I will burn the images into my memory as surely as my childhood prayers, to be pulled forward and cherished again and again. Finally, I head for the kitchen and prepare chili soup for the crock pot. But I peek from the kitchen window often and smile. October: One of God’s greatest gifts to us.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

