Have a Marlis Day!

THE BRIDGE

Posted on: August 6, 2014

fair & bridge 018When my son built this 90 ft. suspension bridge across the ravine behind his home, I experienced a rare “deja vu” moment. As I held tightly to the cables and made my way over the bouncing structure, I felt as if I were replaying a scene from a movie or an event in my life. Then it hit  me: This is the bridge Sparky and Grey crossed in my ‘tween novel, The Secret of Bailey’s Chase. On a whim, the girls respond to a note in a bottle inviting them to meet on the swinging bridge at the Girl Scout camp. After slipping into the deserted camp, the notorious school bully lures them onto the bridge and then releases his vicious dog toward them. Only by using their newly-discovered powers do the girls evade serious injury. When I wrote the scene, I put myself into the story, visualizing a wooden-slatted bridge, the creek below, the sudden wind and rain pelting them. I felt their unbridled fear as the snarling dog approached following orders from his cruel master. I shivered when Sparky’s leg broke through a rotted board, scraping her tender skin. When Grey helped her up and they clung to each other in terror, I urged them to remember their amazing new abilities. When they outsmarted their Nemesis, I shared their sheer relief and joy. It was so real to me, that I recognized the bridge when I saw it. How I wish all my young readers could cross this dancing bridge. They would understand.

2 Responses to "THE BRIDGE"

Looks like a lot of fun, careful– don’t fall off

My sentiments exactly.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

