Have a Marlis Day!

Back in the Saddle!

Posted on: September 29, 2014

sk reading 005Just out of college, I taught reading to third graders. However, I spent most of my career teaching language arts to seventh grade students. My three mysteries were penned during my teaching tenure, working on weekends and summer vacations. After I retired I wrote the two Bailey’s Chase novels for middle grade readers. Since then, I’ve not written any new books but have written a few short stories and enjoyed blogging and speaking at schools. This fall I was asked to volunteer at the local elementary school and listen to children read. So one afternoon a week, I sit in the hallway outside a third grade classroom and listen to children giggle as they read funny books. This little girl asked, “Are you really an author?”

Life has taken me in a full circle, the years rich and rewarding. What a blessing and privilege to teach eager young readers and later to share my love of books with reluctant seventh graders, transforming some into lifelong readers. I consider it an honor to have touched so many lives. Now I’m back in the saddle again and it feels good.

3 Responses to "Back in the Saddle!"

Yes, I need to do something with children again. really miss that. I haven’t been able to since catching the lyme disease. I have been battling it for 6 years. Now I am taking some type of power booster vitamin infusion and another vitamin b type infusion. It has helped. Right now Dave and I are enjoying being together and have travel plans. I worked with readers for 10 years in Pike. Mainly first grade and kindergarten. It was a joy to see them learn. In First “Steps for 9 years I worked with babies. That was fun also. See you later.

Early on, in grammar school, I caught the reading bug, and it’s not left me. Good for you, passing on the reading experience to new generations!

So sweet! I love it. I know you have definitely influenced my life as a reader and a writer. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Hi! I'm Marlis.

Buy Now!

Buy Now!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

